Shifting Light

Spring is in the air, and I am in transition as well.

As many of my readers know, I circled the past few years completing a BA in Adult Education. That has come to a conclusion, and a diploma is in hand. I have decided to continue my education and go to graduate school. I am intrigued and curious about the process of learning. So, I am pursuing an MS in Instructional Design and Technology. I start CU Chicago Fall 2017.

Until then, I am in creative, Awiya, mode. A grand adventure to the U.K. has been planned and all travel arrangements completed. I will not disclose the travel dates because this is a publicly posted blog and well, yeah don’t really need to know, unless I need you to know, you know? ;D I will not be posting here until after the fact.

In the meantime, I am preparing a packing list. Yes, I need some organization to support my free spirited nature of exploration. Otherwise, I will be in complete chaos and probably end up in Italy. Well, that would not be too bad of an idea. However, the UK is the destination. I was contemplating what to pack and well, what type of art materials I would be taking with me. Some considerations for this trip included that I will not be traveling alone. My companion Stephen and my daughter Lily will be joining me.

I am excited for this trip for a couple of reasons.The first, this will be my first overseas trip. The second, I get to Plein air create while I am there. The third, my daughter, Lily, will have her senior pictures taken at Harry Potter film locations throughout England. English photographer, Stephen Smith, my companion, will have the honors of photographing throughout our trip. Why settle for the faux Hogsmeade Village at Disney when you can step off the North Yorkshire Moors steam train at Goathland rail station in England and visit the local village?  Say “Butter Beer” … click…click…click.

Now back to my list of art supplies. While I need to be mobile as possible while traversing the U.K. I really didn’t want to attempt to get my paints, canvas, etc. through customs and then lug around a heavy backpack through the countryside and Englands National Parks. However, the pull to use color and light in a creative way continues to tug at me.

Circling back around to the idea of Shifting Light and one transition into another. Over the course of a year, in conjunction with the tattoo artisan Scott Phillips, I now have an entire left sleeve tattoo. Yeah, that is Goddess Leia on my bicep. I need to update my photos since I have had more work done since these photos. I do plan on getting some ink work done while I am in the Uk, perhaps London.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Now onto the connection between creating with color and light while in the UK and tattoos. One evening, while sitting under the tattoo gun getting some ink therapy done with Scott Phillips, he mentioned that he was given some Van Gogh oil pastels from the Netherlands that he would not use and wondered if I could use them. Of course! Who would not want to use high-grade art materials? So, I graciously accepted these oil pastels and had been waiting for the moon and stars to align and an inspiring, soul moving and AWIYA moment to arise for their use. I will be taking the with me to the UK. I purchased some new pastel paper to take along in my artist satchel as well. Now I can sit in the middle of a field, somewhere, anywhere in the North Yorkshire Moors National Forest, alongside the ruins of a castle or on the shores of the North Sea in Scotland and create using light and color. I will continue to call this Plein Air Painting since the oil pastels are still a form of applied pigment on an artist surface.

This trip will yield not only a series of Plein air creations on paper but also reference photos from my companion for many painting to come. I will complete a “Light of…. ” from pallet to canvas series from this trip.

When I return from the UK, the Light of Nebraska Series needs to be completed with an art showing then donation awards. Then I will move on to the UK series. I believe the UK series will eventually become a book series idea that my companion and I have been kicking around.

The Awiya Side of Life is in full swing and surfing the tides in grand style. Here’s until next time my creatives.

Leave a Reply

