Throwing it Back a few hundred Thursdays

METVangogh1

 

I’m sitting here taking abreak from organizing some photos from 2015 and I came across this lovely one. I remember the moment I first saw this Van Gogh in person at MET in NYC. Titled, 

“Wheat Field with Cypresses “

 

IMG_1861.JPG

 

What struck me first, was the movement he captured through the direction of blobs of paint and the choice of colors and paint strokes. I am looking forward to viewing Van Gogh’s Self Portrait and Sunflowers at the National Gallery in London.

 

What I am finding of another inspiration is the way I might be able to use oil pastels in directional strokes as well as scratching some off to give finer detail on my paper. I am excited to explore the medium in the field with some Plein Air painting.

 

Leave a Reply

